Taoism: The Philosophy of Wu Wei and Weakness as Strength

Reading Time: 4 minutes It is important to remember that this concept promotes non-forcing of anything. If you have to force it, you may see a perceived improvement in your situation immediately, but you may just be setting yourself up for failure later on.

Buddhist Principles: Don’t Shoot the Second Arrow

Reading Time: 4 minutes Don’t shoot the second arrow is a Buddhist principle telling us what not to do after misfortune befalls us. According to this metaphor, the first arrow is the misfortunate incident itself, and the second arrow is our negative reaction to it. By telling someone not to shoot the second arrow, we are telling them not to make an unfortunate situation worse than it already is by reacting in a negative way.

Kant’s Three Rules for Living Well

Reading Time: 4 minutes Living a good life is ultimately what we’re all striving for. Everybody wants more money, status, and possessions in our society with the often unrealized purpose of simply living a better life. But what is a better life, really?

Kierkegaard’s Three Stages of Development

Reading Time: 3 minutes Kierkegaard defined three stages of development, or modes of living, which he asserted all individuals must pass through in order to live a satisfying and rich life. The first is called the Aesthetic stage, the second the Ethical, and the third the Religious.

Peter Rollins: The Frustration of Reality

Reading Time: 3 minutes The problem occurs, Rollins says, not with the innate dissatisfaction of life, but in the adoption of the belief that life’s inherent frustration can be assuaged.